Am I doing this right?

Most days I question my parenting ability.  I wonder if I am just like all of “those” parents…
The ones that scream at their children with no results.   Um, Check.
Or the ones that totally ignore their kids to do their own thing.  Only when I am online.
Or the ones that give their kids anything just to keep them from crying/screaming/hitting/talking back.  For sure when I am driving.

My goal as a parent is to do as good of a job as my parents did with me.  I think I turned out pretty darn good- maybe a little screwed up.  Okay… a lot screwed up.  But I know that my parents were awesome at what they did and I want to be that good. 

Heres what I want to do as a parent:

I want my kids to know I love them and for them to love me.  Real Love.

 I want my kids to respect me.  And I want them to learn respect from me.

I want my kids to be independent and self-reliant but not withdrawn.  Complicated- I know.

What I want most, though, is to raise my kids to be children of God.  I want them to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ and I want them to serve the Lord in whatever capacity He calls.  I am starting to feel successful in this and here are the top 5 ways I am seeing that:

  1.  The boys say please and thank you without prompting.  They recognize and show genuine gratitude for their blessings.
  2. They are compassionate.  They want to help anyone in need.  They want to give people what they have received.  My boys show love to all they meet.  Well, except Dude, he only loves his daddy.  Just ask, he’ll tell you.
  3. Prayer is a natural thing for them.  My boys lead the prayers at meals and bedtime.  They go to God with everything… thanksgiving, hurts, needs, stories.  You name it- they pray it.
  4. Along with the prayer thing, they want to pray for everything.  Bedtime prayer requests include anyone they have met/seen/played with in a day.  And they go to a busy daycare so that is a lot of people to pray for.  But what I love about it is they recognize a need in someone and pray for it.  “Protect Miss Crystal’s baby.”  “Forgive Matthew for being naughty.”   “Thanks for Ms. Margo and Mr. Stephen’s silliness.”   You get the picture.  Wait-now that I think of it, though, this could be just a ploy to stay up later.  Hmmm…. I will have to pay closer attention.
  5. The most recent way that shows me that Hubs and I are doing okay at raising Godly young men happened today in the car.  The boys and I were making our last (yippee!!) 4 and half hour drive from Nevada, MO back to St. Louis.  I had the radio on and they were in the back watching a movie.  All of a sudden I start to see shoes fly across my rearview mirror.  I turned my music down and adjusted the mirror to see what was going on.  When I looked back the boys were beating each other with flip-flops and singing at the top of their lungs JESUS LOVES ME THIS I KNOW!  FOR THE BIBLE TELLS ME SO!  

Yep… I am on the right track. 

What do you want most for your kids?  How do you feel successful as a parent?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Am I doing this right?

  1. Caryn

    Gosh, I know exactly how you feel! Some days I get so frustrated and wonder whether or not I’m good enough.

    But no one’s perfect, including your kids! It sounds to me like they’re great kids, and I love hearing about their antics on FB. Keep up the good work. I can only imagine how hard it has been to be away from your husband.

Leave a Reply

