diet pills don’t work

Diet pills don’t work.  I know this.  I get so mad at the tv and radio commercials that say “take this pill, eat whatever you want and still lose weight.”  I hate the pictures in magazines that show before and after.  These are either photo-shopped or a lot more has been done that just taking the pills.  I know it is not that simple.

I get it.  To lose weight you have to burn more calories than you take in.  plain and simple.  There are lots of ways to get there but diet pills are not the answer.

Yet, yesterday, I lost my mind and decided I was done being fat and I wanted a quick fix.  I decided I didn’t have to work for it if I just took two pills 15 minutes before each meal.  My thought was, I won’t be hungry and I will have a lot of energy to keep up with the boys and I will be skinny by the end of the summer and when I go home everyone will think I look amazing and I will just smile and say I don’t know how I did it and I will be popular and people will flock to me because I am skinny and beautiful and… and… and…

See, I told you yesterday this staying at home thing is making me lose my mind!  And if it hasn’t yet, the diet pills did.  OH! MY! GOD!!!  I thought I was going to die!!!  I was shaking, nauseous, thirsty.  You name a bad feeling and I probably felt it yesterday.  It was awful.  How do people do this all of the time?? Is this what it feels like to be on drugs?  (because I have never done an illegal drug in my life and I am pretty proud of that fact!)  WHAT WAS I THINKING???

Soooooo here are my thoughts on my own weight loss process: 
*I have a lot to lose (50 lbs or more). 
*I know how to do it. 
*I need accountability.  (Because Bubba and Dude are not making sure I don’t eat the bad stuff).

Here are some of my physical health accomplishments:
*after each of my 3 pregnancies I have dropped EVERY SINGLE pound of baby weight within a couple of weeks with doing little more than losing sleep.  (Please don’t shoot me… I know that is not normal and believe me, it doesn’t stay off)
* I have been very successful on many different diet plans where I get to eat what I want and not prepackaged foods.  (think Weight Watchers and the now out of business, LA Weight Loss)
*I don’t like working out but would be totally buff if I had someone pushing me- you know in the last 5 years I have run 4 half marathons (that’s 13.1 miles times 4, folks) and 1 Warrior Dash (a 5K with 12 crazy obstacles and a lot of mud) and I have NOT TRAINED FOR ANY OF THEM!!!  I pretty sure that qualifies me as a freak.  Can you imagine how H.O.T. I would be if I actually worked it?

So what is my problem??  I am lazy.  I have said it before.  I tried to take diet pills yesterday because I wanted the E-Z way to being skinny.  The problem is IT IS NOT EASY!!  If I want to look good, I have to work for it.  It is pretty simple.

So…
Who wants to come to the middle of nowhere (well not really but there is not a ton around here) a be my personal trainer?  For free, of course.  I will be a great “case study” for you.  You can take pictures of my fat gut and then put them next to “smokin’ hot bod” pictures of me in your portfolio. 

Seriously, what keeps you motivated?  Who holds you accountable?

And, I am dying to know… have you ever done anything “stupid” or crazy in your quest for beauty?  I want to hear all the ridiculous things you have tried to get skinny or look good.  I will probably laugh out loud but I promise I won’t hold it against you.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “diet pills don’t work

  1. I’ve never done diet pills, but I’ve struggled with my weight ever since I was a kid. Most of my diets were informal “weight loss/eat healthy” periods which were (in hindsight) doomed to failure because I ditched them the minute any challenge presented itself. Tray of desserts? Forget about losing those pounds, I’ll take the cheesecake and three of those pastries!

    About 5 years ago, I saw the scale hit 255 and wasn’t happy. B and I went on Weight Watchers unofficially (we didn’t pay the dues but counted points) and I wound up losing 80 pounds. Since then, I’ve gone on and off of it whenever my weight spiked.

    Most recently, I did a 20 pounds in 20 weeks challenge and chronicled it on my blog to keep me honest. Perhaps you could do something similar. Keep a blog record (with or without photos depending on your comfort level) of your weekly weigh-ins to help keep you honest on whichever weight loss plan you attempt. We’d be a virtual cheer squad/support group for you (free of charge 😉 ).

  2. Jennifer Brown - Auntsug

    It’s scary how much we are alike! I start my diet – I mean – “new life plan” tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes!

    Good Luck

  3. Darin Edelson

    Some diet pills actually do more harm than good. Be careful with diet pills.^

    Current short article provided by our website
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/whooping-cough-sound/

Leave a Reply

