peaches

Some of my greatest memories of my Ninamom and Papa are of going to Eckert’s to pick fruit… peaches, apples, pumpkins.  We would go out on the wagons, fill our buckets, take it home and eat our fruit until we were sick to our stomachs.

So when I saw in the Nevada Daily Mail that the peaches were ready to be picked I got really excited to take Dude and Bubba picking.  We made a date with Hubs and headed out.  To our disappointment, the orchard we visited (and apparently many others) don’t let you go out and pick your own.  We have a lack of personal responsibility, lawyers, and insurance companies to thank for that… but I digress.

“Oh well, it is too hot to be outside anyway,” says Bubba.
“Yah! Too hot,” agrees Dude.
I love my boys and when we are out in public they really know how to look on the bright side of any situation.

The peaches we "picked"

the peaches we "picked"

 

I did a poll on Twitter and Facebook on what I should make with my peaches.  The responses were what I expected: pie, cobbler, and crisp.  (I also got a suggestion for wine but that is a little out of my skill set I didn’t go any further than trying to find a recipe.) 
I got out my cookbooks to see which one I had the ingredients for and settled on a recipe for peach crisp from “The Joy of Cooking.”

The Joy of Cooking

aka my cooking bible

So I peeled and chunked the peaches into my Pampered Chef Deep Dish Pie Stone (yes, I just did a product placement plug).

I made a topping out of flour, sugar, salt, and cinnamon.  Then I popped in the oven and was tortured by the wonderful smells for more than an hour. 

the finished crisp looks oh so good

I love summer time fruit.  So delicious.  So many possibilities.

But the best part of this peach crisp: Dude and Bubba think it is disgusting and now I don’t have to share.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

