um, hi

Last night we took the boys to Walmart to buy personal care items for the victims of the Joplin tornado.  One of the hazards of living and teaching in a small town is that I can not go anywhere without seeing my students.  I joke that my alcohol consumption has dropped dramatically because I don’t want to get caught buying booze (yes, i know i am 31 years old and it is perfectly legal, blah blah blah.  I am still embarrassed about it and feel like I have a reputation to uphold)

Anyway, last night was no different.  We are in the toothbrush aisle which is just one away from the tampon and condom aisle.

I see two students walk by.  They say hello. I smile and wave.  We pick out our toothbrushes and toothpaste.  We head down the aisle and turn the corner.  There are my students (a guy/girl couple that are so in love, btw) in the condom aisle.  The boy makes a big scene of saying hello.  I realize what they are buying. I turn bright red.  I say “I don’t want to see you buying this stuff.”  Hubs says (in a really loud voice) “at least they are being safe.”  They laugh. I get out of there as fast as I can.

At school today they wanted to talk to me. About their purchase. During class. With everyone there. Someone asks if I recommended a certain type.  (no I did not!)  They tell me Hubs is really cool.

I groan.
Then I give them a killer final.

That’ll show them to embarrass me!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “um, hi

  1. Caryn

    Hahaha! Oh my goodness! I could never do what you do!

Leave a Reply

