not the royals

Let me start this post with this proclamation:

I bleed Cardinal Red.  I was born, raised, and will die a Cardinals fan.

Now that we are clear on that I have some confessions to make.

  • I watch the Royals on tv almost everyday.
  • I have been to more Kansas City Royals games this season than I have been to Cardinals games in the last 5.
  • My kids are becoming Royals fans and there doesn’t seem to be a thing I can do about it.

Here’s the deal:  We live in western Missouri about 100 miles south of Kansas City-Royals territory.  If we lived 20 miles south or east we would still be in Cardinals territory.  Since we live where we live… we don’t get Cardinal broadcasts on TV (even with the extra Fox Sports package).  We do, however, get the radio broadcast so I do listen regularly.

Going to a Royals game (which never sells out) is an easy event- tickets are as cheap as $11 and all of the seats are good seats in “The K.”  Because the Royals suck- come on we all know that it has been 26 yrs since they have done anything of note (in which they did beat the Cardinals in the World Series)- they have all kinds of “gimmicks” to entertain you at the games.  It really has a minor league stadium field (sometimes the home team looks minor league, too).

The boys love the Hot Dog Races (3 fans dressed up in hot dog suits racing around the field) and the Hot Dog Launch (they throw hot dogs into the stand).  I am a fan of all the silly things they put on the screen. Last night the Rays missed a really easy fly ball and they showed a clip from The Sandlot to make fun of the play.  I also like the “oblivious Fan Cam” where they show someone in lala land and time how long it takes for them to notice themselves on the GINORMOUS screen.  Hubs loves the Royals so he could care less about the entertainment.

Last night we went to the game because it was Buck Night ($1 hot dogs, sodas, and peanuts) as well as Fireworks Friday (a fireworks display after every Friday game).  It was awesome.  I was expecting a piddly little display but this was a huge, 4th of July caliber display.  The boys had never seen anything like it and they were glowing.

So I must confess- I like going to Royals games.  We have fun and that is what America’s past time is all about?

Do you have any secret sports confessions?  Please share.
Or at least validate mine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

