i resolve to…

It is that time of year again.  You know, where we all make promises to ourselves and each other about losing weight, being healthy, accomplishing some major goals.  By February, though, most of us have forgotten about those promises.

I have started writing things a notebook of things I want to do/remember/think of/don’t want to forget/can’t keep track of on my phone. I modified the idea a post that sort of sucker punched me in the gut from a great blog I follow called The Simple Dollar. Anyway, I started writing down my new years resolutions for 2012 in this notebook and it quickly got out of hand.  My list was growing longer by the minute.  Here are a few of the items:
-lose weight
-keep the house clean
-save money
-pay off debt
-be a better blogger
-be a better wife
-be a better mom
-be a better leader

I was planning on blogging my list in hopes that publicly stating them would help to hold me accountable but after reading my friend Greta’s blog I realized it need to rethink.  She mention’s SMART goals in her post.  Oh how I how I used to dread SMART goals (specific, measurable, actionable, reasonable, and time-bound) were the bane of many professional development days when I taught at Ritenour. A little maturity and time, however, helps me to see that this is, in fact, a pretty good system for goal setting. I also stumbled on to this blog that put the same thought in different words to reemphasize my need to edit my resolutions.

So here is my revised list of resolutions and my plan for getting there (divided into categories):

Weight/Health (isn’t this at the top of everyone’s list?)
I have struggled with my weight forever but now it is impacting my health in multiple ways.  I will lose 36 pounds by Christmas 2012.  That is 3 pounds a month.  Of course I would like to lose about 60 pounds but I need to be realistic.  I will lose the weight by joining a the T/R aerobics class at the Y and lifting weights with the Hubs on Mondays.  I will also walk the dog on a daily basis.  I am going to stop drinking soda and reduce my junk food intake.  I will pack my lunch daily with healthy options.  By joining the biggest loser competition at school I will be doing weekly weigh ins to track my progress.

Money
We have money problems… we have debt, spend too much, and don’t save enough.  I am terrible about tracking where it goes.  I will start writing down what we spend.  I will keep the check book balanced on a daily basis.  I will cut up my credit card.  My car will be paid off this spring and I will roll that payment into a credit card payment.  I will think about what I am buying (and whether I really need it) before going to the register.  I will continue working at the shoe store as well as pimp my Pampered Chef wares in addition to teaching middle school.  I would really like to start couponing but I won’t start that until the summer.  I need to get other things organized first.

Home
Sometimes I am not a great housekeeper.  Okay, who am I kidding?  I am terrible housekeeper.  It bugs my husband. It bugs me, too. I will make my bed everyday (I am on day 4 now!).  I will put things away when I am done with them.  The boys and I will do a 10 minute “sweep” everyday to pick up- we will make it a game. I will do a “chore” everyday (bathroom on Monday, floors on Tuesday and Thursday, etc.)  By doing this, I will feel better and the Hubs won’t be so annoyed.  Also, our tiny house feels so much bigger when things are cleaned up.

Faith
Prayer is easy for me.  I find myself praying constantly.  Reading the Bible everyday, though, is not easy for me. My goal is to follow through with one of the hundreds of daily reading plans I have started.  Hubs and I also lead Alpha in our church and want to be more organized in my planning and leadership.  I have set aside specific times for planning and administrative things that go with leading this group.

I have decided to stop there.  I think these are super lofty goals for me and  I want to be successful this year.  My plan is to blog regularly with updates (I have reminders programmed into my phone). I have also posted these goals so I can see them frequently. To my friends and family that see me or talk to me on a regular basis I ask for you to hold me accountable.

What are your resolutions?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “i resolve to…

  1. Pingback: march resolution update | the frayed momma

Leave a Reply

