march resolution update

So here we are… 2 and (almost) a half months into 2012 and I am (sort of) sticking to my resolutions.

Here is an update:

As of last Friday I have lost about 15 pounds.  These are real pounds- not just water weight.  I am going with last Friday’s official weigh in from our biggest loser competition because I did not like today’s unofficial number.  I ate Chinese take out for dinner on Saturday and have gained 7 pounds since Friday!!!!  I feel like a water balloon that is about to pop.  I have been drinking a ton of water and eating produce like there is no tomorrow.  (this is providing great entertainment and conversation for Bubba and Dude (see here for more about that) but not so great on the air freshener budget if you know what i mean…).  Anyone have a great “get rid of water weight fast without doing long-term damage” tips?  Please post them in the comments below.

I continue to track every penny that goes in and out of our bank account and as a result we are starting to build up our emergency fund, are seeing the snowball start to grown as we pay down some debt and we are even starting to save up to replace the windows in our house.  We have not been eating out in 2012 like we have in years past and I really don’t miss it too much.  Especially after Saturday’s (our first take out in over a month!) Chinese food bloat.

I am failing miserably at my resolution to keep our house clean.  I suck at cleaning.  I am keeping the kitchen clean and not letting the laundry pile up but our tiny (800 sq ft) house is super cluttered so it always looks a mess.

I am most proud of the fact that I have read about 3/4 of the New Testament so far.  I am keeping up with my resolution to read the New Testament in 90 days.  Only 24 days left and I am on track to finish on time.  Thanks to this site and this site for letting me follow along.  My Lenten discipline has been to read the book “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idelman.  It is a challenging book that is making me think and reflect on who I am as a Christian.  Check out the book’s website here.

I am off to drink some lemon water.  Hope to not be so puffy in the morning.

How are you doing with your resolutions?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “march resolution update

  1. What I’ve heard about losing water weight starts with what you’re already doing – drink plenty of water (seems counter-intuitive, but you’re trying to flush the sodium), eat foods high in fiber (also helps to flush the sodium), and try sitting in a sauna (and keep drinking water!). Some folks also suggest herbal diuretics, but realistically unless you have an underlying medical condition, your body should regulate itself pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

