todays talk

I have been taking the boys to the YMCA everyday this summer.  They hang out in the childcare area while I get my sweat on.  I have yet to lose any weight.  More importantly, though, I haven’t lost my sanity.

Anyway, while they were in “Kids Kove” today, they were coloring in Christmas coloring books.  This led to a very long and very intense discussion with the boys about Santa Clause.  I did not do much speaking- just a lot of “Uh huhs” and “Really?” and a couple of “You thinks?” thrown in for good measure.  They came to the following conclusions:

  • Santa brings gifts but not the really good ones- those come from the grandparents.
    By the way… Papa if you are reading this they are asking for a trampoline from you for Christmas
  • It is important to be good all year because Santa watches more than just Christmas time.
    I think I need to get an elf on the shelf or something for this one to really work
  • Even though Santa watches all year, we can’t call the Naughty or Nice hotline right now because Santa spends his summers on the beach in Hawaii.
    Dude suggested we head there to talk to him instead of going to Canada this summer.

After we got through the Santa Clause we headed to the pool.  I love going to the pool at the Y primarily because there is never anyone else there.  Also, it  is inside so I don’t have to deal with sunscreen or heatstroke.

So while we are changing (in the handicap stall in the women’s restroom because I am afraid of creepers and won’t send the boys into the men’s restroom by themselves) the boys brought up an interesting topic.

Dude “Why do I have wear underwear?”
Me “To protect your junk.”
Dude “I think my junk feels better without underwear.  I don’t think I should have to wear it anymore.”
Bubba “I kinda like it when I don’t have underwear touching my junk.  I think I will go without it, too.”
Note: They did not wear their underwear home. 

This afternoon we were shucking corn (the hubs’ grandpa brought us 150 ears last night) and started getting crazy with the corn.  I will let you use your imagination on this one but I will say… they have started junior high behavior way too early. All I want to know is:  How is it that we had an intense Santa Clause discussion only 6 hours earlier?

Wish me luck with these crazy boys.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “todays talk

  1. lisa

    You know how it is with boys. Boy are we in trouble. Gavin keeps punching me in the boobs yesterday. I told him to stop it, it is a private area. He says, but I love them so much. Really??? Punching my boobs is enjoyment? Great. That was just yesterday. Who knows what will happen tomorrow:)

  2. Candace Penker

    The boys are too funny!! I love reading your stories! Miss them lots!!

Leave a Reply

