resolve 2013

Last year I made some resolutions that I actually kept (sort of)

I resolved to lose weight… I lost the same 15 pounds 3 different times.  I found them soon after losing them.

I resolved to keep my house cleaner… It did… until I let the boys out of their rooms.

I resolved to get our finances in order.  We were successful on this one.  We started tracking every penny we spent and were able to do a great job of cutting expenses.  We are on a good track to be debt free (including our mortgage) within 6 years!!!

I also resolved to read the Bible more… I read the whole new testament in 90 days. I didn’t set a new goal after that so I was not as consistent in the spring or fall.  We went on a mission trip over the summer so the months leading up to and following the trip I was studying and consistent.

This year I am want to keep it simple:

I want to be a better mom.  I want my kids to know how much I love them and that means telling them and showing them.  I need to spend more time playing with them rather than Bejewelled Blitz.

I want to be a better wife.  I need to work on showing my husband respect and letting him be the leader of our family- trusting him.  This is going to be a hard one for me… I am not very nice to him. I am bossy and come across as demeaning in our everyday interactions.  After 11 and a half years of marriage I have not gotten the “wives submit to your husbands” thing down.

I want to be a better teacher. I want my students to know I love them and that they are worth something. I want to be prepared in advance with my lessons and caught up with my grading.  I want to be teacher of the year material- I have a long way to go with that.

I want to continue to grow as a child of God. That means more reading, studying, taking, listening, and learning.

Wish me luck.  What are your resolutions for 2013?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

