problems with work

I want to vent a little bit here on this one.

First I must confess a few things:
1.  I am a reformed gossiper—- I used to love to be in the know. Now I am happier as a blissfully ignorant floater.
2.  I can get mad easily.  I make big bad bold statements (to the hubs and close friends) before having all the facts.

That being said there are some people in my community (including but definitely not limited to some people I work with and the anonymous commenters on our local newspaper’s website) that are limited-information-conclusion-jumpers.

I have tried to stay away from anything controversial since I moved to the small town.  I love not knowing “the dish” because I don’t seem to get mad over as many frivolous thing as much.  I have no reason not to trust my administrators (both at the building and central office level) because I don’t get caught up in other people’s opinions.  I am pretty happy to be at work these days.

However, there are some issues (people complaining about how much money they aren’t making and how much others are) that seem to be blowing up all over the place.  I can’t get away from it- the whispers in the halls, anonymous letters to on the fence faculty members, the uniformed comments with the vaguely written “news” articles, among other things.

It all just makes me mad.  I can’t believe that I used to thrive on this stuff.  Now I want to run as fast and as far as I can.  

Do I wish I made more money?  Who doesn’t? (by the way I make significantly less now in my 10th year of teaching than I did in year 2 because I moved from “the big city” to a small town)
Do I think it is important to stand up for what you believe in? Of course.  People shouldn’t be afraid to do what is right… just make sure you are doing what is right (I am not sure that always happens)
I think too many people are whining and complaining because of things they have heard from others (who may or may not be correct). I don’t know the whole story and I wish I didn’t know any of it. I think, just like with any situation, there is a lot more than what we have heard (funny how the voices of the angry are often louder than those of reason).

I just wish people would realize how good we have it and how much worse things could be.  And to those of you complaining about how much (or little) you are getting paid… at least you have a job… there are a lot of people out there that want yours.

Questions… do you get caught up in workplace gossip and drama?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “problems with work

  1. Caryn

    I am the same as you, well, almost. I used to love being caught up in all the gossip and in everyone’s business. Then I got really sick of it and deleted everyone but family and really close friends from facebook. I still give into the occasional argument with those limited-information-conclusion-jumpers and I hate myself for it every single time! I’m working really hard to be like the current you, to remove myself entirely from all that and to just be happy. And let me tell you, it’s SO HARD.

Leave a Reply

