lessons learned on a mission trip

We just got back from our mission trip to Canada.  I was very nervous about returning to White Dog for a second summer to work with a new missionary and brand new church plant.  I have learned a few lessons in the last 11 days that I will share with you.

1.  Bubba has a future as a politician.  He has mastered the filibuster.  Who knew he could talk for 8 straight hours?  He talked almost the entire time we were in the car. (That was about 20 hours each way!)

2.  Dude is a thrill seeker.  We stopped at Mall of America on our trip.  He went on every single roller coaster.  Even this one.  And he loved them!! If this is what he is into at age 5, we better watch out!

3.  The further north we went the better the temperature got but the worse the bugs got. Canadian mosquitoes and flies are awful!!

4.  I shouldn’t complain about gas prices here. Gas in Kenora, ON was $1.44.  Sounded great until I realized it was per liter.  That works out to be about $5.45 per gallon.  Factor in the exchange rate and we are looking at close to $6 a gallon!!  The $3.49 we are paying right now is great and I won’t complain anymore.

5.  Kids are kids regardless of where they are.  They want to play, eat junk food, and be loved.  I hope we were able to provide that this week to the kids at White Dog as well as our own.

6.  While our we are coming from the same place and our destinations are the same, the road we take is often different and winding.  The paths may cross or run parallel for a while but ultimately we walk our own roads.  Without good communication, walking our separate paths might cause others question and disagree.  When we are passionate about something, sometimes we wear blinders. Sometimes we hurt others even though our intentions are good.

7.  I need to be careful when I am serving.  I love working and connecting with people.  But sometimes I can get caught up in loving and serving others that I forget to love and serve the ones I am closest to.  

I have been learning lessons 6 and 7 over the last few years but this trip helped me to see them from a different angle. I don’t know if our trip was successful. I pray we didn’t put forth a bad image while dealing with conflict within our team.  I pray for futures of the awesome kids we got to hang out with. I am thankful for Facebook to keep up the adults I connected with.

Have you been on a mission trip?  What did you learn?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

