i took a sick day today

The following is an email that i sent to my assistant principal in the middle of last night.

“Subject: my eye is about to explode

okay so maybe i am being a little dramatic but i do have something wrong with my eye.

i thought it was my allergies and i tried to sleep it off (because that is what i do anytime i am not feeling good) but it is now after midnight and my eye won’t stop oozing.  gross, i know.
anyway, i have googled my symptoms, freaked myself out and come to the conclusion that it could be a corneal ulcer or blepharitis or some other really awful eye thing (don’t ever google your symptoms) but is more like likely to be pink eye and i need to go to the doctor for antibiotics.
I have put in for a sub through AESOP but wanted to make sure you knew since it is so late.  I don’t have your number here at home- i will go up to school in a few hours to get some plans together and i will try to find your number to let you know in case you don’t check your email super early.
thanks for rubbing and itching your eyes in my honor today.  Let me know if you need anything.”
his reply: gross. i will get you a sub.
I think i should be embarrassed.  i also think that emailing at 12:30 am is not a good idea.
Pink eye has to be the worst experience I have had in a very long time.  my eye is puffing, oozing, and matted.  i can’t see.
I went to the eye doctor and he fixed me up with some steroid drops and antibiotic drops.  He said I should feel better in a few days.  I am still miserable.  I have spent the day cleaning everything to get the funk out of my house.  i hope my boys don’t get this.
Have you ever had pink eye?  Have you ever emailed your boss too many details?
2 Comments

October 11, 2013 · 3:03 pm

2 responses to “i took a sick day today

  1. Caryn

    Oh my gosh, we just got over two and a half weeks of pink eye over here! Lili had it, then gave it to Moriah, then they gave it to ME. And it was viral, so the antibiotic eye drops really didn’t help. I feel your pain! It took me 10 days to get completely over my pink eye!

  2. Yucky! That explains why I didn’t get a text back from u! We were having math issues! I wrote about it at throughtheeyesofthirtysomething.wordpress.com . I hope u get better fast!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

