i love my job

I love my job.  I love my job.  I love my job.  I have been chanting this to myself a lot lately.  As in… the more I say it to more true it will be.  I have been thinking a lot this weekend about my school year and how much I am struggling and how I have been feeling really sorry for myself lately.

Then I remembered that I feel this way almost every February.  The weather is cold and dreary. We can’t play outside and get fresh air and sunshine.  The kids have sunk deeply into the third quarter rut.  It is just a bad time for me regardless of what my teaching load looks like.

I have decided that I need to get back on track and focusing on the positive.  Many years ago, for Lent I gave up talking bad about my students. Before that I gave up gossip for a semester.  One year I decided to only make positive parent phone calls.  Each of those years, my feelings towards school and my students improved dramatically.  When I focused on the good and avoided wallowing in the negatives, I was a better teacher.  Things improved at home for me as well… I had more to give to my family at the end of the day.  I wasn’t nearly as cranky as I have been in recent months.

So here’s to staying positive!  I am going to focus on the good because there is a lot.  In each of my classes I have a handful of wonderful, amazing students that want to learn.  I am not going to let a few bad apples ruin it for me or the rest of my students.  I am going to teach like I know I can.  I am going to own the things I can improve upon.  I am not going to get stuck on the things I have no control over.  I am not going to wallow in self pity over things that don’t go my way.

I am going to try to report back about the improvements I see within my classroom and share things I try.  So… if you don’t hear from me for a while… you know I am busy inspiring students.

How do you get out of the rut of negativity?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

